Jonathan De Pas, Donato D’Urbino e Paolo Lomazzi

Following previous professional experiences, both individual and in combination with other architects, Jonathan De Pas (1932-1991), Donato D’Urbino (1935) e Paolo Lomazzi (1936) began working together in 1966. Their interests included industrial design, interior design, exhibition design, urban planning and architecture. They made their mark in the 1960s as exponents of the fashionable and unconventional pop design: particularly famous is the “Blow” armchair of 1967 as are the designs for other pneumatic structures, housing and exhibition areas of the same years, such as the inflatable tunnel for the 14th Milan Triennale (1968). In the seventies they were responsible for some of the icons of Italian design: the Joe sofa (1970), the Duecavalli chair (1970) and the Sciangai coat hanger (1973).
They received numerous awards and honours, including the Compasso d'Oro (Milan, 1979). As well as design, they also developed theoretical work with the Association for Industrial Design (ADI), the Politecnico of Milan and the IUAV of Venice. Their works are in the permanent collections of several museums, including the Museum of Modern Art in New York, the Victoria & Albert Museum in London, the Centre Pompidou in Paris and the Milan Triennale.